Z axis getting off square while printing

New Home Forum LowRider Troubleshooting – LowRider Z axis getting off square while printing

This topic contains 17 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Cliffhanger 2 months, 1 week ago.

Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Author

Joseph
    Participant

I’ve been running the Low Rider all day yesterday and most of this morning. And I either just noticed the problem or something happened. I’m still learning some of the CNC stuff so just let me know if it is a simple user error. For starts here are the specs of my machine.

Mini Rambo board with the basic firmware

5’x10′ table with DWP611 Dewalt router

I use ESTCAM for writing my G Code and Repetier Host ran from my laptop hooked up USB to the board to run the program.

The problem I’m having is that I’m trying to cut out a part from 1/2″ thick blonde wood and my Z axis is getting off. I just had to Emergency stop the Low Rider by pulling all the power because it was about to crash itself. I was running a program with a 1/4″ bit set to

z+ = 1.5mm

a(z+) = 90

f(xy) = 20

f(z) = 1.5

s = 24000

The program had ran for approximately 10 minuets then I noticed that the Z axis was extremely off(about 3/4″)  when I heard the router having problems cutting because it was plunging to deep. I leveled the z axis by hand before I started.

Any advice is greatly appreciated and just ask if I left out an important pieces of info.

Ryan
    Keymaster

Looks like you have a lot of weight on the side that isn’t lifting? The bar and hoses and stuff. That concentrates the load instead of a more even distribution, and because it is a long bar it is acting as a long breaker bar and possibly tweaking the angle binding the screw. See if you can easily turn the lead screw with your fingers.

Either move the bar or slow down your Z moves, both rapid and plunge. You are wired in series on the Z correct?

1 user thanked author for this post.

Joseph
    Participant