Spindle weight, Y-lenght and combining lowrider with MPCNC?

New Home Forum Mostly Printed CNC – MPCNC Advice – MPCNC Spindle weight, Y-lenght and combining lowrider with MPCNC?

This topic contains 11 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Alex 6 months, 1 week ago.

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

Alex
    Participant

Hi ,

great project(s). Thanks a lot for sharing!

I’m in the ‘first phase’ of becoming clear about which design to build, and maybe you can give me some advice.

My background is (kite) surf / hydrofoil boards and wings. So far I hand shape the boards (XPS) and print (CR10), sand/filler the moulds for the foil-wings which then get done as composite. I also have a quite large BOSCH gof2000ce professional spindle with which I milled composite contours and coarse-shape XPS. (Note: I do not plan to mill composite on the MPCNC; only XPS foam and possibly some MDF for moulds).

My first idea was to use that spindle, but it is quite large and might be to heavy (6kg).

The other point is I really like the design of the MPCNC with the stainless steel tubes. However, I’d like to go for Y axis of about 1.8m (~59 feet) to be able to mill the boards. Working through MPCNC and lowrider, I came to the conclusion that what I actually would like to do is a combination of both:

Y-axis like the MPCNC, but supported on the bottom – will there be enough space to do so?
    X-axis inspired from the lowrider with 2 tubes in parallel, and the spindle in between. For x I’d need about 0.6m effective toolpath.

So what do you think about such a combination? And how about the tolerable spindle weight (I guess the inertia might lead to problems with the stepper motors?)?

Or should I just go for a ‘default spindle, build a large Y MPCNC and support it?

Thanks a lot!

Alex

Barry
    Participant