Short engraving bits in the DeWalt 660

New Home Forum Mostly Printed CNC – MPCNC Advice – MPCNC Short engraving bits in the DeWalt 660

This topic contains 6 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  TomW 3 weeks, 3 days ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

TomW
    Participant

I’ve had a couple of fails on parting out an engraving using a 1/8″ 2 flute bit. The bit pushed back into the collet twice, destroying the work. In once case the bit was pulled out of the collet and left embedded in the wood. I’ve used routers, drills and other tools with spinning bits and feel comfortable that I tightened the collet up enough, but this is my first time with the DeWalt.

The bit isn’t very long…. 1 1/2″….  and I tried to keep it longer to ensure it cleared the 1/2″ thickness of the wood. I’m using a 1mm step down and 900mm / minute feed rate. Just got my machine up and going last week, so I’m keeping it nice and slow until I get the kinks out of my process.

I ran a successful part out with a 1/4″ up spiral….. I felt the larger bit would solve my issue and it seems to, although there are times when cutting out something that I’ll need a smaller diameter bit.

So here’s my question….. How much of the bit needs to be in the collet to be safe and effective? Or is a 1 1/2″ length bit just too short? I purchased some of the Amazon bits and they all seem to be short, almost Dremel-like.

Thanks in advance for your help…..

Aaron
    Participant

They don’t really come any longer in 1/8″ shank, they become more prone to breaking the longer you get. If it’s slipping that often, you might want to check and make sure it’s actually a 1/8″ bit, and not a 3mm shank.

TomW
    Participant

Aaron,

They are listed as 1/8″ on Amazon

On a 1 1/2″ length shaft should the entire non-cutting portion of the bit be in the collet?

Tom

Josh
    Participant