MPCNC in Walla Walla, WA

New Home Forum Mostly Printed CNC – MPCNC Your Builds – MPCNC MPCNC in Walla Walla, WA

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Ryan 3 months ago.

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

Tony
    Participant

20190217_151900
    20190217_162828-1
    20190217_162839-1
    20190217_162910-1
    20190217_162915-1
    20190217_162925-1
    20190217_162932
    20190217_162951-1

I’m an Aircraft Mechanic, Energy Engineer, Tinkerer and Beginning Woodworker…

Thanks to Ryan for this amazing design and providing such a great website and forum for sharing.  I’ve been working on my MPCNC off an on over the past 24 months and have gone with a “Fluke” black and yellow theme.  I’ve added a few modifications from various postings on Thingiverse as you can see in the photos.  I got started into 3-D printing almost 10 years ago when I was a student of Mark (who is a professor at the University of Washington team doing group builds of the MP3DP.)

Next MPCNC Steps:

• Z-axis drag chain
    • End-stops
    • Construct a better control panel with dedicated cooling
    • Install laser
    • Enclosed bench with dedicated dust recovery

Planned Projects:

• Converting artwork from 2-d on paper into engraved/burned into wood surfaces
    • Cribbage boards
    • Engraved boxes with inlay

#1 Question I have:

I know that for laser engraving that there are some g-code generators that can convert images into something that a laser can engrave.  I have some artwork that I’d like to do that with, but would like to use a router and cutting v-bit to create the image.  The only problem is that some of this artwork has hundreds, if not thousands of lines and would take a very long time to convert using Estlcam, unless it has an automated function.  Any input from the V1 Engineering community would be greatly appreciated!