Extruder not feeding

This topic contains 2 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Jeffeb3 3 days, 16 hours ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

Steven
    Participant

I’m tyring to follow the book Maintaining and Troubleshooting your 3d Printer. It was talking about calibrating the extruder and never mentioned the heat had to be turned on for the extruder to move. So now that is working. On to the next headache…

I’ll start by saying I’m totally new to this and likely in over my head. I bought the Hictop 3d printer kit from Amazon. After much struggling with the cryptic installation “manual”, I’ve finally gotten it assembled.

I can move the x, y, and z axis from the control panel, no problem. When I try to move the extruder, nothing. The first thing I did was checked the voltage for that motor. I got 0.84v DC for x, y, and extruder motors, z was 1.03v DC. So I at least know power is getting to the right place on the board.

The next thing I did was unplugged x and extruder from the board and plugged the extruder in x. I then went through the menu and moved the x axis and the motor did move. So at least I know the cable and motor appear to be working properly.

Now I’m a bit stuck. I don’t know if it is the board or the firmware causing the problem. I’m assuming i can use the multimeter on one or more of the pins of the motor to see if the board is sending current to it when I tell it to move, but that’s above my scope of understanding.

The documentation didn’t include the brand of electronics or the version/type of firmware. I’ve attached a picture of the board if that helps.

I’m dying to print something. It hasn’t helped that this arrived right after I had shoulder surgery, so I’m a bit loopy from the pain meds and one hand short.