A 33" x 33" Multi-Head Jack-of-Some-Trades

New Home Forum Mostly Printed CNC – MPCNC Your Builds – MPCNC A 33" x 33" Multi-Head Jack-of-Some-Trades

This topic contains 12 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Ryan 2 weeks, 6 days ago.

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author

Smith Hayward
    Participant

Just wanted to setup a thread to catalog my build and thought process in case it helps anyone down the line. I am 100% green when it comes to CNC, but I have almost 4 years of 3D printing experience and I’m ready for the next chapter in my making-obsessed life.

NOTE: I’m getting married early April.  This build will not begin until we return from our honeymoon.  (Eh… well, maybe.)

I’ll lay out the high-level set of “requirements” that will define this build (I’m a Business Analyst by day):

1. Low Cost. I’m willing to put about $800-$1000 into the machine and associated tooling and table/enclosure. Spouse-APPROVED BUDGET! 🙂
    2. Moderately Precise. I’m not making spacecraft parts, but it’s nice when parts that interface actually fit together.
    3. Multi-Material / Multi-Tool. I build airplanes from foam board, boats from foam insulation and want to get into building things out of ply as well as relief carvings/decor that I can maybe sell to recoup some/most of the cost of the machine and fund future projects. Oh and cutting vinyl will be cool too (paint masks, etc.).
    4. Easy to Build. I’ve coded, but I’m not a coder, so with some YouTube and community assistance I can accomplish what I need to in Arduino, that is also at the top of my list of things to learn more about.
    5. 20″ x 30″ Minimum Working Area – this is the size of the foam board sheets I use for RC planes. (Will be using the needle cutter for that, and I’m SO excited!!!.)

Bonus Add-Ons For “Someday” (which probably means as soon as I get it working)