2×3 build in RI

This topic contains 10 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  Sean 3 months, 3 weeks ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

Andrew
    Participant

Thought I would share my almost finished MPCNC with you guys as a thank you.  I am a Marine Tech and wanted to be able to offer my customers custom dash panels, switch plates, etc. when doing new engine installations and upgrades.  I stumbled on the MPCNC during a quick search.  I have no background whatsoever in CAD or CNC, but I really enjoy making stuff!  After perusing the forum over here for a bit and seeing how helpful everyone was, I ended up comfortable with the idea of going for it and ordered my kit from Ryan.  The website was super helpful and all the instructions were clear enough for a noob like me.

Bought an inexpensive 3d printer and figured out Cura.  3 weeks later and I have an operational CAD table.  I even taught myself to use Onshape and designed my first ever part, 3-d printed it and installed it on my new MPCNC.  (Milestone!)  It’s a mount for the center assembly drag chain that doesn’t attach to the z axis (Because Ryan seems so against it!).

I’ve been getting the machine dirty and slowly learning the ins-and-outs of Estlcam.

The build is 2×3 (though I really wanted 2×4 so that I could fit full widths and make some furniture.  Guess I’ll just have to start printing the parts for a lowrider…).  .065 stainless tubing (which i bought enough of from my local supplier FOR the lowrider as well….) with a chinese 500w spindle.

Just need to create some kind of enclosure to mount the rambo board, spinle speed controller, stop switch and power distribution in (open to suggestions!)

I would love to hear your thoughts on the build – including constructive criticism!  Thanks for the quick responses on the few questions I’ve had.  I enjoyed the heck out of this build!

Andrew

2 users thanked author for this post.

Andrew
    Participant